Image Home
 Our History
 Our Magazines
 Our Directors
 Contact Us
 Other Journals
 Favourite Sites 

Literary Contests 


Don't chuck that stanza! Enter Arc's Poem of the Year Contest
    You still have time to pull those lines into shape and enter Arc’s
    Poem of the Year Contest. Or give a nudge to your shy but talented
    friend. This year, the first prize winner will take home $1500, the
    second prize $1000, and the third prize $750. Postmark deadline is
    June 30, 2007.
    We are delighted to have Newfoundland’s John Steffler, currently
    Canada’s Parliamentary Poet Laureate, as this year’s Poem of the
    Year judge.
    Arc’s Poem of the Year Contest is in its twelfth year, and is one of    
    the longest running poetry competitions in Canada. For close to
    thirty years Arc has published some of the finest poets from across
    the country and abroad. Your contest entry fee of $23 CAD entitles
    you to a one-year Arc subscription mailed to an address in Canada
    starting with the Winter 2007 issue in which the winning poems
    appear, or one issue (the Winter 2007 issue) mailed to an address in
    the U.S. or overseas. (If you already have a subscription, you can
    give your extra subscription or issue to a friend.)
    Please see the complete contest guidelines at
    Although all contest submissions must be sent by post mail, we’ve now    
    made it possible for you to pay your contest entry fee online by
    credit card or paypal or cheque or money order at our Poetry Stand.
    Download the poster for your fridge, the office bulletin board, or a
    lucky wall:
    Run with your inspiration.
    Send Entries to:
    Arc: Canada's National Poetry Magazine
    POTY Contest
    P.O. Box 81060
    Ottawa, Ontario,
    Canada, K1P 1B1


Acorn-Plantos Award for People’s Poetry
    In memory of Milton Acorn and Ted Plantos   
    Deadline: June 30, 2007
    The Acorn-Plantos Award for People=‘s Poetry is presented annually to a
    Canadian poet based on a book published in the previous calendar year (in
    the present case, 2006).
    The work should follow in the tradition of Acorn, Livesay, Purdy, Plantos,
    and others by being accessible to all people in its use of language and
    The award is open to any living poet who is a Canadian citizen or landed
    immigrant. The work may be entered by the poet or the publisher. The award
    itself honours the poet.
    The award consists of $500 (Canadian) and a medallion.
    Entry fee: $25 per title.
    Send entry fee plus five (5) copies of the book to the address below.
    Cheques payable to the
    Acorn-Plantos Award
    Jeff Seffinga, Executive Director
    Acorn-Plantos Award Committee
    36 Sunset Avenue
    Hamilton, Ontario
    L8R 1V6
    2005 winner RONNIE R. BROWN  for  States of Matter,  Black Moss Press